BTT: Winter Reading

btt2The northern hemisphere, at least, is socked in by winter right now… So, on a cold, wintry day, when you want nothing more than to curl up with a good book on the couch … what kind of reading do you want to do?

Atlanta winters tend to be mild, but we still get our share of cold, grey days like today. I am too whimsical of a reader to be affected much by something like the weather in my actual habits, but I admit that mentally I tend to gravitate toward works with heavier subject matter or darker atmospheres. Last February I read Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norell, and for me it was the perfect book for curling up and escaping the winter doldrums. I loved the magic, the dark story, the idea of London, the cold country houses with roaring fires. Everything fit. This winter I am again reading books set in England, both fiction and non-fiction: The Children’s Book, A Great and Terrible Beauty, and Victorian London: The Tale of a City 1840-1870. I am hoping to get to The Moonstone before the trees bloom and the days get long as well, because something about a Victorian mystery just seems to lend itself to a dark, rainy day.

How about you: do you like a dark, Gothic tale or a suspenseful mystery on a cold day, or do you gravitate toward books with a light atmosphere that take you somewhere warm and sunny? Happy Thursday!

Note: I welcome all BTT participants and your comments, if you have something interesting to offer in response to this post. Please do not leave a generic comment simply so you can post your own link. All participant links can be found at the Booking Through Thursday site. Thanks!

11 comments

  1. My only requirement is that the book is plot-driven. You are the first person who recommends Jonathan Strange, I will have to check that out! 🙂

  2. I can see Dr. S & Mr. N being a great snowy day read. I can’t remember in what weather I read it, but I read Byatt’s latest this summer. It’s a denser read but a wonderful world to get wrapped up in! For your London reads, have you checked out The Meaning of Night? That’s a good one!

  3. I remember trying to read Jonathan Strange when it first came it. It’s incredibly impressive, imaginative and original but I soon got distracted and haven’t had a chance to return.

    I recently tried reading The Children’s Book but it was too slow and too difficult to get into. I’ll try Possession first, I think, since that’s waiting in my TBR.

    Also- love your little note about leaving *actual* comments. I’m a little tired of meme comments which are just one lined generic answers with a link to their blogs.

  4. Bookeywookey, I just looked up The Meaning of Night, and I am adding it to my TBR immediately. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Mae, I hope you can pick up Jonathan Strange again soon…the ending really brings everything together in such an imaginative way. I am enjoying The Children’s Book, but I admit I am a bit hindered because I keep stopping to look things up. As much as I enjoy that, it does distract me a bit. I am happy to hear I am not the only one who is tired of the link spam! I am so tired of “Great answer! Here is mine…” or “Interesting choice…” when I’ve listed three or four books. I try only to comment on other people’s blogs when I have something to say. I don’t think of commenting as advertising, but I guess some people do.

Leave a Reply

